Augusta, GA (Sports Network) - Tiger Woods' drop at the 15th hole on Friday at
the Masters has come under scrutiny.
Woods may have violated Rule 26-1 when he took a penalty drop after his third
shot hit the flagstick and rolled back into the water that fronts the green of
the par-5 hole.
In comments he made after the round, Woods said he decided not to go to the
drop area and chose to play from the original spot of the shot. However, he
also said he went two yards further back to take a drop, which could be deemed
illegal and could lead to a disqualification.
"I went down to the drop area, that wasn't going to be a good spot, because
obviously it's into the grain, it's really grainy there," Woods said about his
decision on the 15th hole. "And it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and
not a good spot to drop.
"So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back
and I took, tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit."
Rule 26-1, relief for a ball in water hazard, gives a couple of options,
including one that states a player may take a drop from "as nearly as possible
at the spot from which the original ball was last played."
Various media outlets, including the Golf Channel and ESPN, have reported that
Masters officials are reviewing the situation.
The Sports Network