Morgan, Wambach among U.S. nominees for FIFA player of year

10:54 AM, Oct 25, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Zurich, Switzerland (Sports Network) - Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach were among the four United States nominees for the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award announced Thursday.

Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe were also among the 10 candidates, as the United States had the most players of any country selected. The United States won its third straight gold medal at the 2012 Olympics.

Olympic silver medalist Japan, the reigning World Cup champions, had defending world player of the year Homare Sawa, Miho Fukumoto and Aya Miyama selected to the list.

Five-time world player of the year Marta from Brazil, Canada striker Christine Sinclair, and France midfielder Camille Abily were also named to the list.

Former United States coach Pia Sundhage, who has since stepped down to become coach for Sweden, was named to the list of 10 candidates for FIFA World Coach of the Year.

FIFA will announce the winners Jan. 7.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos